Short answer: US phone unlocking rules now differ by carrier. Verizon postpaid phones unlock once paid off. Verizon prepaid phones wait 365 days. AT&T postpaid needs 60 days and a zero balance. T-Mobile postpaid needs 40 days and payment in full. Most prepaid brands lock phones for up to one year.
Check your own phone with the free phone unlock checker, or follow the step-by-step guide on how to unlock a phone.
The 2015 rules this page once covered are no longer the whole story. The biggest change came in January 2026, when the FCC let Verizon drop its automatic 60-day unlock. This page lays out the current rules, carrier by carrier, with every fact linked to its source. BestCellular.com is an independent reference. We are not a carrier.
What changed in phone unlocking rules (2024–2026)
- July 2024: The FCC proposed a rule (FCC 24-77) that would require every mobile provider to unlock handsets 60 days after activation, unless the phone was bought through fraud. [Federal Register]
- May 19, 2025: Verizon petitioned the FCC to waive the handset unlocking rule tied to its Upper 700 MHz C Block licenses and its Tracfone purchase. [FCC DA 25-490]
- January 12, 2026: The FCC’s Wireless Telecommunications Bureau granted the waiver. Verizon must follow the CTIA Consumer Code instead. The waiver applies to phones activated on Verizon’s network starting the day after release, and lasts until the FCC sets an industry-wide approach. [FCC DA 26-43]
- January 20, 2026: Verizon’s prepaid brands (Visible, Total Wireless, Straight Talk, Tracfone) moved from 60 days to 365 days of paid service, as reported by 9to5Google and Droid Life. [9to5Google] [Droid Life]
- January 27, 2026: Verizon’s own postpaid and prepaid policy changed. Postpaid phones now unlock when paid off. Prepaid phones wait 365 days. [9to5Google]
- February 2026: Verizon briefly applied a 35-day unlock delay to phones paid off in the app, online or at authorized retailers, then said it was working toward immediate unlocks for all payment types. [Android Authority] Verizon’s current policy, effective February 18, 2026, names only Verizon Gift Card payments as causing a 35-day delay. [Verizon]
- June 5, 2026: The FCC gave Appalachian Wireless, which leases Upper 700 MHz C Block spectrum from Verizon, the same waiver on the same terms. [FCC DA 26-554]
The federal baseline: FCC rules and the CTIA Consumer Code
There is no single FCC unlocking deadline for every carrier. Two layers apply.
1. The FCC’s 700 MHz C Block rule
In 2007, the FCC adopted an “open platform” rule (47 CFR 27.16(e)) for Upper 700 MHz C Block licensees. In 2019, it let Verizon lock phones for 60 days, then required automatic unlocking. That 60-day duty no longer applies to Verizon phones activated after January 12, 2026. [FCC DA 26-43]
2. The CTIA Consumer Code for Wireless Service
The national carriers follow six voluntary unlocking commitments, as summarized by the FCC: [FCC DA 26-43]
- Post a clear, readily accessible unlocking policy online.
- Unlock postpaid devices after the service contract, device financing plan or early termination fee is satisfied.
- Unlock prepaid devices on request no later than one year after initial activation, subject to reasonable payment or usage terms.
- Notify customers when a device is eligible, or unlock it remotely, without an additional fee.
- Within two business days of a request, unlock the device, ask the manufacturer to, or explain why it does not qualify or needs more time.
- Unlock devices for deployed military personnel in good standing who provide deployment papers.
Unlocking rules by carrier (October 2026)
| Carrier / brand | Plan | When it unlocks | Automatic? | Official policy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Verizon | Postpaid | When bought at full retail price or the financing balance is paid in full. Verizon Gift Card payments add a 35-day delay. | Yes | verizon.com |
| Verizon | Prepaid | After 365 days of paid and active service. | Yes | verizon.com |
| Visible, Total Wireless, Straight Talk, Tracfone | Prepaid | After 365 days of paid service, for phones bought on or after January 20, 2026 (as reported). | On request (as reported) | Reported by Droid Life |
| AT&T | Postpaid | Bought more than 60 days ago, installment balance at zero, bill not past due, not reported lost or stolen. | Yes for eligible Apple, Samsung and Google devices. Others: request. | att.com |
| AT&T | Prepaid | 12 months of paid AT&T service, not reported lost or stolen. | Request at att.com/deviceunlock | att.com |
| T-Mobile | Postpaid | Active at least 40 days on the line, financed or leased device paid in full. | Yes, within two business days if the device supports remote unlock | t-mobile.com |
| T-Mobile | Prepaid | 365 days since activation, or more than $100 in refills per line plus more than 14 days since purchase. Max two unlocks per line in 12 months. | Yes, within two business days if supported | t-mobile.com |
| Metro by T-Mobile | Prepaid | 365 days since activation. Device must be bought from Metro. | Yes, within two business days if supported | metrobyt-mobile.com |
Every carrier above refuses phones reported lost or stolen, and may deny requests tied to fraud. [Verizon] [AT&T] [T-Mobile]
Is my phone unlocked? How to check
iPhone
- Open Settings.
- Tap General, then About.
- Find Carrier Lock. If it says No SIM restrictions, your iPhone is unlocked. If it says SIM locked, it is locked.
Apple cannot unlock an iPhone for you. Only your carrier can. [Apple] [AT&T]
Samsung Galaxy
- Released after September 1, 2025: Settings > Connections > More connection settings > Network lock status.
- Released before September 1, 2025: Settings > About phone > Software information > Service provider software version. AT&T says text ending in ATT/ATT means the phone came from AT&T.
Source: [AT&T]
Google Pixel and other Android phones
- Every Pixel sold in the Google Store comes unlocked. Pixels bought from a carrier may be SIM-locked. [Google]
- Network test: Settings > Network & internet > SIMs > select your SIM > turn off Automatically select network. If only one carrier appears, the phone is likely locked. Several carriers usually means unlocked. [AT&T device guide]
- SIM test: insert a SIM from another carrier. An “incompatible SIM” style message means the phone is still locked. [AT&T]
How to request an unlock
- Confirm eligibility. Use the table above. Pay off any device balance first.
- Check whether it already happened. Verizon, T-Mobile and Metro unlock eligible phones automatically. AT&T does too for eligible Apple, Samsung and Google devices on postpaid plans.
- Submit a request if needed.
- AT&T: att.com/deviceunlock. Approval usually takes minutes and can take up to 48 hours. Track it at att.com/deviceunlock/status with your request number and IMEI. Non-customers must confirm by email link within 24 hours. [AT&T]
- T-Mobile: check status in your My T-Mobile account. For help, contact T-Mobile Customer Service. [T-Mobile]
- Verizon: the policy describes automatic unlocks and does not list a request form. For help, use Verizon Support. [Verizon]
- Restart with the new SIM. On iPhone, insert the new SIM or set up the new eSIM. With no other SIM, back up, erase and restore. [Apple]
Deployed military
All three national carriers have a military path. AT&T does not require deployed personnel to pay off the device. [AT&T] T-Mobile and Metro unlock for deployed members in good standing with deployment papers. [T-Mobile] [Metro] Verizon unlocks a deployment-suspended line after the account is verified in good standing for 60 days of active service. [Verizon]
What to do if your carrier refuses
- Get the reason in writing. Under the CTIA Code, the carrier must unlock, or explain why the phone does not qualify, within two business days. [FCC DA 26-43]
- Fix what you can. Clear any balance, past-due bill or lost/stolen flag, then ask again.
- File an FCC complaint. The FCC says consumers can report unlocking compliance issues through its Consumer Inquiries and Complaints Center: consumercomplaints.fcc.gov. [FCC DA 26-43]
Leaving Verizon? See how to unlock a Verizon phone.
Frequently asked questions
Is my phone unlocked?
On an iPhone, open Settings > General > About and look at Carrier Lock. “No SIM restrictions” means it is unlocked. On a newer Samsung Galaxy, open Settings > Connections > More connection settings > Network lock status. On any phone, a SIM from another carrier that will not connect is a sign the phone is still locked.
Do carriers have to unlock phones?
Yes, under conditions. Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile follow the CTIA Consumer Code: postpaid phones unlock after the contract or financing is paid, prepaid phones unlock on request no later than one year after activation, and eligible requests get an answer within two business days.
How long does Verizon lock phones now?
Verizon postpaid phones stay locked until bought at full retail price or paid off in full. Verizon prepaid phones stay locked for 365 days of paid, active service. The old automatic 60-day unlock ended after the FCC waived Verizon’s unlocking rule on January 12, 2026.
Can a carrier refuse to unlock my phone?
Yes, for stated reasons. Common ones: the phone is not paid off, the account is past due, the phone was reported lost or stolen, fraud is suspected, or the lock period has not ended. If an eligible phone is refused, you can file a complaint with the FCC.
Is unlocking a phone free?
T-Mobile and Metro by T-Mobile state that unlocks are free for eligible devices. The CTIA Consumer Code commits carriers to notify customers when a device is eligible, or unlock it remotely, without an additional fee.
Will an unlocked phone work on any carrier?
Not always. Unlocking removes the software lock. It does not change the radio bands a phone supports. Verizon’s own policy warns that an unlocked Verizon device may have limited or no functionality on another carrier’s network.
Sources
All sources checked October 13, 2026. Carrier policies change without notice. Confirm with your carrier before you switch.
- FCC, DA 26-43, Order granting Verizon waiver of section 27.16(e), released January 12, 2026: docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-43A1.txt
- FCC, DA 26-554, Appalachian Wireless waiver, released June 5, 2026: docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-26-554A1.pdf
- FCC, DA 25-490, Public Notice on Verizon waiver petition, released June 6, 2025: docs.fcc.gov/public/attachments/DA-25-490A1.txt
- Federal Register, FCC 24-77 Handset Unlocking NPRM, August 8, 2024: govinfo.gov
- Verizon, Device Unlocking Policies (effective February 18, 2026): verizon.com/about/consumer-safety/device-unlocking-policy
- AT&T, Learn how to unlock AT&T phones or devices (updated June 29, 2026): att.com/support/article/wireless/KM1008728
- T-Mobile, SIM Unlock Policy: t-mobile.com/responsibility/consumer-info/policies/sim-unlock-policy
- Metro by T-Mobile, Phone Unlock Policy: metrobyt-mobile.com/terms-and-conditions/phone-unlock-policy
- Apple Support, How to unlock your iPhone for use with a different carrier: support.apple.com/en-us/109316
- Google Pixel Help, Use your Pixel phone with any mobile operator: support.google.com/pixelphone/answer/7107188
- AT&T Device Support, Checking whether your phone is carrier locked (Pixel 8 Pro): att.com/device-support
- 9to5Google, Verizon prepaid brands move to 365-day unlock, January 20, 2026: 9to5google.com
- 9to5Google, Verizon unlock policy update, January 27, 2026: 9to5google.com
- Droid Life, Verizon device unlock policy 365 days, January 20, 2026: droid-life.com
- Android Authority, Verizon 35-day unlock delay, February 16–18, 2026: androidauthority.com
